For most people, driving is a casual activity that is as natural as breathing. We weave through traffic and breeze around corners almost without looking, and certainly without thinking critically about our actions. But all of that changes the moment we become parents and start transporting our children.
Car seat laws in Louisiana are intended to help protect young kids and to curb a tragic statistic: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reports that over 1,000 children were killed on America’s road in 2012 alone.
Few experiences are as devastating as seeing a child hurt in an accident. The pain and anguish are compounded when the crash was caused by a negligent driver.
If you were involved in a collision that hurt your child, contact a Monroe personal injury attorney at Campbell, House, & Cummins to discuss the specifics of your case. We are experienced litigators with a passion for the law and a commitment to our clients. Call 318-855-0285 to arrange a consultation.
Child Car Seat Laws in Louisiana: What You Need to Know
From the very first time parents place a newborn child in their vehicle, they are suddenly more anxious about perceived dangers on the road. They begin to navigate benign traffic lights, pedestrian crossings and even roundabouts with a heightened sense of caution.
This vigilance is only natural given the dangers that a highway can pose to small children. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports that traffic accidents are the leading cause of death for children between the ages 3 and 14 in the United States. But keeping your kids safe involves a lot more than simply how you drive; it starts the moment you place them in the car.
Child safety seats reduce the risk of death for children under the age of 1 by 71 percent, and for toddlers between 1 and 4 by 54 percent. Because car seats are so effective, Louisiana has made them compulsory.
Louisiana law stipulates that:
- Children between birth and 1 year old, or weighing less than 20 pounds, must travel securely fastened in a rear-facing infant safety seat or convertible safety seat;
- Children between 1 and 4 years old, or between 20 and 40 lbs, must travel while facing forward in a convertible seat (also known as a combination seat) that is fitted with an internal harness;
- Children between 4 and 6 years old are required to ride in a backless or high-backed belt-positioning booster seat; and
- Children over the age of 6, or over 60 lbs, must wear a lap-shoulder belt or be secured in a belt-positioning booster seat.
Car seats are a great way to help protect your child and are crucial for keeping them alive during an accident. But no car seat can prevent all injuries.
If your child has been hurt in an accident that was not your fault, contact personal injury attorney Wade L. House at Campbell, House, & Cummins for legal advice. Call 318-855-0285 to arrange a consultation.
Campbell, House, & Cummins
1815 Roselawn Ave
Monroe, LA 71201