There comes a point in all of our lives when one of our friend’s or family members might be in a rut and needs to borrow a vehicle to get from point A to point B. While many may be hesitant to let anyone other than themselves get behind the wheel of their car, you may have agreed to let allow them to borrow it as you know they truly needed it. But what happens if they were to engage in a collision while driving your car or truck? What happens if they already did?
If you are looking for answers to the following questions, then you have come to the right place as we are about to address them for you below.
The first thing you are probably most concerned with is whose insurance company is going to be responsible for covering the damage. While you might be assuming that it’s your friend’s insurer who is going to foot the bill, that generally isn’t how it works. You see, your vehicle is insured by you, despite who might be driving it. So, if you let a friend borrow it and they engage in a collision, then your insurance policy would be the one in which you would file a claim under. In fact, your liability insurance, which the state requires you to carry, is what would kick in first.
Currently, the state of Louisiana requires its drivers to carry the following limits for liability insurance:
- $15,000 for bodily injury to one person.
- $30,000 for bodily injury to more than one person in a single accident.
- $25,000 for damage to someone else’s vehicle or other property.
[Source: Louisiana Department of Insurance].
One thing you need to keep in mind is that not all insurance companies operate in this manner so it is best to contact an agent to confirm whether your policy will cover the wreck your friend engaged in.
Now, if you have a deductible on your policy, you will have to satisfy that before your insurance carrier is going to reimburse you for the damage, according to Allstate. In the event the accident only involved your car, you may want to assess the extent of the damage before deciding whether you want to file a claim. The reason being is that once you choose to file a claim for the accident your friend was involved in, it could potentially cause your insurance rates to increase as it was your vehicle.
Let’s say another party was responsible for causing the wreck between your vehicle, which was being driven by your friend at the time, and another driver. Because the state of Louisiana operates under at fault laws, that means the party responsible for causing the accident is held liable for the damage they cause. Now, because it wasn’t you that was driving, you might run into some obstacles as the other insurer may not want to pay or their policyholder may be attempting to throw the blame on your friend when they didn’t actually cause the collision to transpire. If this happens, it is best you call the Shreveport, LA car accident lawyers at Campbell, House & Cummins. Our highly experienced and dedicated team of car wreck attorneys can help you to settle the dispute and get you and even your friend the compensation you need for vehicle repairs and even for the injuries suffered.
In the event you have any other questions, are having a difficult time with any of the insurance companies that might be involved, or the insurance company isn’t willing to pay you for the extent of the damage that has been done, our office is prepared to aid you in getting your issues resolved. To schedule a consultation today to find out more about the services we offer and how we can help you, call us now at 318-855-0285.
Campbell, House & Cummins, Attorneys at Law is located at:
333 Texas Street, Ste 1300
Shreveport, LA 71101